Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Thread: Racing Pics

Racing Pics

Bought a D40 55 - 200 VR last year for taking photos of my nephew who races bikes.
    I am a complete novice. Here is a few of the better ones. Any comments on how to take them better would be appreciated

http://www.minimotoracer.com

Re: Racing Pics

awsome shots....great focus...
    BFiredup
    "The new girl on the block! :blush2: "
    Canon 40D
    Canon Rebel 300D
    70-200mm USM IS f/2.8L
    EFS 18-55 Kit lens
    Canon EF 75-300 f/4-5.6III
    Canon EF 85 mm f/1.8 USM
    Epson Stylus 1800

I agree these shots are great, post some more of them. What is your setup when shooting them, it seems on a couple that there is some grain, This could be because you are using a high ISO which you shouldn't be or you are using photoshop to zoom into your shots rather than a longer lens.
    Chris Johnson
    Nikon Samurai # 30 chrisjohnsonpic.com
    Nikon D2Xs, Nikon D50, SB-800, AF Nikkor 80-200 D ED f2.8, AF Nikkor 50 D f1.8, AF Nikkor 18-55 G ED f5.6

Thanks for the comments, Chris i am just starting out so sport mode for most, when i play about with the settings most come out blurred like the last one here
    I have put a few more up below, if anyone can advise on the best settings ie shutter speed etc i would be grateful

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

The last two photos, I think you need practice that's all.

Last one, the shutter speed of 1/320 is just right.
    The wheels are blurred, but not to the point the spokes disappear.
    But it looks like you have two problems, the panning and the focus.
    Are you using the AF--C continuous autofocus?
    Are focussing manually on the part of the track you expect them to ride on ?
    (that black line would be good)