Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Thread: Racing Pics

Question Racing Pics

I am new to SLR photography so i was just wondering what lenses would be good for racing, specifically motorcycles, such as AMA and MotoGP. I bought a KM Maxxum 70 Date because i prefer 35mm over digital. i am trying to figure this out now because the next race i am going to is in five months and i need to save up to buy the lens, being in college its hard to buy something when you really want which i am sure most of you already know. i am also thinking about buying the Domke f-803 because i like how it looks and i want something that does not attract attention when i am standing around watching the races with up to 80000 other people. if anyone has any ideas i would greatly appreciate it.

Re: Racing Pics

i also forgot to mention that i am a biology major in college so i was wondering if you have any ideas on lenses for nature pictures. thank you.

Somewhere north of US 10 and east of Wausau, WI, USA

When you say nature, do you mean landscape photography, or macro (super-closeup) photography?
    Sean Massey
    Massey Photography

Canon 20D
    Canon Digital Rebel XT (backup)
    Canon 70-200 f/2.8L
    Canon 50mm f/1.4
    Sigma 28-105 f/2.8-4.0
    Epson Stylus Photo R1800 Printer

Blog:
    IT 4 Photography

Quote Originally Posted by masdog
    When you say nature, do you mean landscape photography, or macro (super-closeup) photography?

i plan on studying marine mammals and other animals. i dont really plan on much landscape photography.

I think that requires a special type of camera. I don't know if they make any waterproof housings for DSLRs.
    Sean Massey
    Massey Photography

Canon 20D
    Canon 70-200 f/2.8L
    Canon 50mm f/1.4
    Sigma 28-105 f/2.8-4.0

Blog:
    IT 4 Photography

Rob-