Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Lens for Sony Alpha 100 (Gymnastics)

I am new to photography. I have looked over a number of the useful threads and have been trying to shoot gymnastics (poor lighting, action photos, no flash). Most of my images come out dark or with blurred feet. I usually bump up the ISO to 800 or 1600 and shoot shutter mode. From what I read here, it sounds as if I need a different lens, perhaps 80-200 f-2.8, or something of that nature. Any recommendations, how do I know what will be compatible with my camera body and also the Sony alpha 100 that has image stabilization in its camera body. I don't want to buy something too expensive but would like to shoot better photos.

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

Re: Lens for Sony Alpha 100 (Gymnastics)

I don't know what the crop factor is on the Sony, but you're in the right range for the lens.
    Definitely, since gymnastics is indoors the lower the f/number the better.

Image stabilisation only helps with stationary subjects, if you have to pan with the movement then it can't help you much during the pan.
    Also image stabilisation only works on things that aren't moving. Like the bars, the beam, or the horse - you will find moving gymnasts can still be blurred.

But your lenses should be cheaper than the Canon 70-200 IS on the Nikon 80-200 VR because the stabilisation is in the body.

I'm a Canon user, so I can't recommend a Sony lens from experience.
    PAul

Scroll down to the Sports Forum and post your sports pictures !