Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Thread: Football

Unhappy Football

I am an amateur and i have a 30d canon and also a 100-400mm lens IS. I am very
    excited because my son plays football (american football) and that's the reason why I got these equipment.
    Spring ball is coming and I want to learn techniques in getting good action pictures.
    Can anyone give me tips?? Please ? Any rule of thumb? what is the best way to
    approach it...by TV or AV or Manual? Thanks.

Re: Football

Welcome to the forum! First off, how old are the kids and at what time will they be playing? If you're talking HS football, there are many older threads on this but you will be very challenged to get many useful shots after the lights come on. Manual is the only way to go if you want consistant results. I'm not very familiar with the 100-400 lens but unless it's a constant f2.8 or lower, it won't gather enough light for night games even with flash. If his games will be in daylight you should be able to get some decent results. As far as settings go, they can vary greatly with the amount of light. You need at least a 1/400 or higher shutter in good light to stop the action. The other settings will depend on that.
    Daniel - PixElite Photography

http://www.pixelitephotography.com
    http://www.actionphototips.com
    http://www.maxpreps.com
    I use Nikon Professional gear.

thanks a lot daniel! my son plays college football. they usually play on saturdays around
    1:00pm which provides some excellent available lights. But the problem are
    there can be shades from the grand stand and I really dont know how to work on
    this. The 100-400mm canon lens has an f/ of 4.5 - 5.6. is this too slow?
    I really appreciate your quick assistance.