Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Foot ball games at night

Do you guys have any tips or technique for shooting night games? I'm thinking about shooting games for my high school. I was thinking I might be able to use a flash if they got close enough. I don't have a fast lens yet, 70-300 4/5.6. I was thinking about the Nikon 70-200 2.8. I have a 50mm 1.8, I was thinking that I might be able to use that if I was right on the sideline and the player was close. Does any body have any tips, I'm just starting out.

Thanks,
    Corey

Re: Foot ball games at night

Cory you are in for an adventure shooting night football at a high school facility. My first suggestion is to do a search of PR's sports forum threads this is subject that has been discussed a lot and you will find a lot of information on it. Second thing that I will say is that a fast f2.8 lens is a must. The f4/5.6 just will not cut it on 99% high school fields. The 50mm while fast will just not get you close enough to the action on the field to fill the frame. As for flash most of us have resorted to using some sort of flash to enhance our images of night football. Check out the other threads and if you have specific question then get back to us. Good luck and be sure and post some of your results.
    Don't forget about the Gallery. Are your photos there??

Nikon Samurai #13

"A photographer is known by what he shows not by what he throws. The best photographers have the biggest trash cans." Quote from Nikon School sometime in the early 1970's.

I use the 70-300 F4-5.6. It's hard, but is usable. The background is almost always blackened out like you're in a studio.

Here's one from it:

Alright, I will do a search. That picture looks pretty good specradio.

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar