Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Thread: Flyball

Flyball

I hope dog sports are considered sports.

I took this picture with my new Olympus evolt e-300 in Vegas early this month. The lens is a 40-150mm f3.5/4.5. Exposure is 1/640 sec at f 5.0, length 150mm, ISO100. No flash, it's in the sun.

I'm happy with the picture... though with taking these types of shots where the dog is coming toward me, I'm finding that I would like a large depth of field so the camera doesn't have to adjust the focus as the dog comes closer. I had this on the action shot auto setting so the camera automatically chose the settings.

This is my first digital SLR so I am still learning. Is it possible to increase the DoF? Will I still get pictures nice and sharp if I do have a greater DoF? I have not played much with the manual settings on the camera yet. I hope to as spring and summer warm up the outdoors.

Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Flyball-tinkerjump.jpg  

Re: Flyball

Welcome to the forum.....I think everyone loves animals....LOL...
    Great shot...the only thing I would do, would be crop out the blur on the left and bottom of the shot....

As far as helping you get set up with your new SLR.....I am not the one to give advice, I am still a seeker, not a giver....LOL...
    Keep on shooting....
    BFiredup
    "The new girl on the block! :blush2: "
    Canon 40D
    Canon Rebel 300D
    70-200mm USM IS f/2.8L
    EFS 18-55 Kit lens
    Canon EF 75-300 f/4-5.6III
    Canon EF 85 mm f/1.8 USM
    Epson Stylus 1800

Cynthia...

Yup I think it is a sport..... You win things, it is a sport....