Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>
    Shooting Canon and loving it!

First Shots of MSU Hockey

So, this was my first event. I know these pictures aren't great, but it's a start I figure.

I covered the Michigan State Hockey National Championship Parade and Celebration, it was a lot of fun.

Below are a couple pictures, feel free to give me any advice, I am a NEWBIE, this is my first time shooting with my Canon 20D.

Thanks for viewing, and remember ... GO GREEN - GO WHITE - GO STATE!

Beamer
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails First Shots of MSU Hockey-sparty_walking-copy.jpg   First Shots of MSU Hockey-sparty_john.jpg   First Shots of MSU Hockey-band_small.jpg   First Shots of MSU Hockey-cheer_small.jpg   First Shots of MSU Hockey-hockey_celebrate_small.jpg  

Last edited by Beamer; 04-11-2007 at 11:08 AM.

Re: First Shots of MSU Hockey

Nice shots for the first crack at it. Sparty's looking good.
    John

John,

Thanks for the comments, but you know - Sparty ALWAYS looks good....Go Green!

Beamer

Sorry, I'm a UMD & Minnesota fan....since 1968 ) ....although one of my Uncles worked at MSU for 40 years or more. Another relative built a scoreboard that stood for 30+ plus years at the Univ. of Michigan and both my parents were born and raised in Michigan and supported both schools. Needless today we had some interesting times during football and hockey seasons

Not a bad start there Beamer, anymore of the game(s) ?

JS
    Canon 1D
    Canon 1D MK II N
    Canon 70-200mm USM IS f2.8
    Canon 200mm f1.8 USM
    Canon 300mm f2.8 USM IS
    Canon 28-300mm USM IS f3.5-5.6
    Canon 50mm f1.8
    Vivitar 19-35mm f3.5-5.6

Not bad parade shots! I would love to see some action shots of the championship game. Especially the winning goal with less than 20 seconds left! What a nail biter!