Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Disaster Strikes in the UK

Dan, Sports Photographer UK - [My Website]

Well it's all gone **** up my end. You ever get the feeling somebody up there doesn't really like you? Well, hey we're in the same boat!

I'm a semi-pro sports photographer based in a tiny student-village in Wales (UK). I shoot soccer and rugby for local newspapers, using a faithful Nikon D70. All my kit it self-bought...and that's the problem because none of it is either insured or under warranty. That means if something goes wrong, in essence my friends, I'm well and truly shafted.

Today I was shooting a rugby game with a good crowd (about 2,000) and my camera just died. No error code, nothing obviously wrong...it just died. Now I have nothing for the paper, nothing for the club and nothing to pay my expenses. Well and truly shafted!

This leads me to ask a question - Should budding young freelancers/semi-pro's either spend a fortune on back-up kit? Always use newspaper equipment? or use hire equipment?
    Pride, Passion & Belief!

Re: Disaster Strikes in the UK

Here's some of my recent photo's:

1. The News Stadium Swansea - Wales v Slovenia

2. Preparing to shoot - Wales v Slovenia

3. Tackle - Wales v England

4. Another tackle - Welsh Soccer League

5. Wing-Play - Welsh Soccer League

6. Rhys Shellard - Welsh Rugby

7. Balancing Act - Welsh rugby

8. RUMBLE!!! - Welsh Rugby
    Pride, Passion & Belief!

Ouch Dan!
    Well, us freelance types are in a boat that can sink at any moment. I just lost my Pro body and sent it in for repair, but was fortunate to have a somewhat suitable backup for emergencies. My main body is a Canon 1D, my backup a Digital Rebel. Hopefully one day I will get a 1D MKII and have the other two as backups.