Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Best camera for baseball?

Not only am I new to this forum, but I'm totally new to photography. I love baseball and am searching for a nice digital camera for this summer. Based on what I've seen online and what friends have, I think I want an SLR-type camera (although I don't even know what SLR means - I'm that new!). I am willing to spend $1000 at most and the main thing that I want is that it has "rapid-fire" (is that the correct term?). Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Digital Rebel

I think the Digital Rebel is going to be the camera for you. Price and performance it seems to be the camera. But there may be some other options that the guys here can recommend since some of them get to play with all types of cameras.

First thing to do is to FORGET about the motor drive, the "rapid fire" thing you refer to. Nothing will replace skill with the camera, and that only comes with practice. Timing can take years to develop, the excellent images you see in SPorts Illustrated and other mags are due to SKILL that was honed over years, not due to any hardware you can buy.

Think about this long and hard, the camera will not make you get good shots. Even with tens of thousand of dollars worth of stuff, you will still get snapshot quality images unless you learn what makes the images good. Timing and composition are key.

BTW, a thousand bucks will buy a one LENS long enough to shoot daylight sports (300 f/4 IS), the camera will be another grand at least...and then the hard part begins.
    -Seb

My website

(Please don't edit and repost my images without my permission. Thank you)

How to tell the most experienced shooter in a group? They have the least amount of toys on them.

OK - this raises more questions: