Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New here and need help on indoor photography

Hi, I was just at my daughters cheer compeition today!! It came out horrible. I didnt have my reg lens which was what came with the sony dslr a100 camera. I have the 70mm to 200 mm lens but it was auto. I dont have any other lens. What settings should i have it on for indoor sport photography. I think i should of had my shutter speed higher too. Im new to this camera Never had an slr before either. Please help me. I have a double compeition next Saturday and Sunday dec. 9th and 10th. Thanks for all the help I can get!!!

Marcie

Re: New here and need help on indoor photography

You'll have to bump your ISo up to 800, possibly 1600. Although most will tell you the kit lens is too slow, I have shot concerts at 5.6 with success. Which 70-200 lens are you refferring too?

If you can get close enough, you may be able to find a good 50 1.7 for under $100.

Hi, I wont be able to get close enough. Im willing to spend over a $100 for a good manual/auto lens. Would any of u know or give me type of lens to look at. I am really clueless when it comes to finding a good lens.

Thanks,
    Marcie

May the force be with you Canuck935's Avatar

Well, if you're talking fast lenses, especially zooms, your talking several hundred dollars. You could give the 70-210 f/4 a shot, and it can be had on ebay for less than $200.

how is this type of lens!!!

70-300mm f4-5.6 LD AF Zoom Lens f/ Sony Alpha or Maxxum

Thanks for helping me!!!!

Marcie