Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Need some advise .. Sony A200

hey all... am a total noob on this ground ... i just always wanted to take photos ... so finally i managed to get myself a SLR .... which i always wanted ... i know its not one of those highly recomanded gears ... but still for a noob i think its not a very bad thing to start off...

anyways my main subject is nature and i like wide/long shots more... so can anyone suggest me which lens wud be best for me .... i havve the basic one now ... 18-70 mm

Re: Need some advise .. Sony A200

Hi there

Well one thing a noob and a experienced photographer have in common is that they both have to start somewhere to get better. Btw thats a great camera. I think the photographers skill is more important than what gear he or she uses.

I too actually want to get into nature photography and will be needing a telephoto lens. I was thinking about the 70-200mm f2.8 lens but it was around $1500! Maybe next time lol. But I know for a fact that people with Sony and Konica Minolta cameras love the 70-210 f4 (aka beer can) lens. That’s the one I will be purchasing soon. It’s around $300 and obviously used, but seeing that everyone loves this lens here, I think I will as well. Good luck
    -
    Please do not take my photo's. Thank you
    www.SammySoliman.Smugmug.com

Wide and long are opposites. What are you trying to capture?

Check out the beercan thread and see if this is what you are looking for.

The Beercan (70-210 f/4) thread..

TF
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.