Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Minolta Lenses? Help!

I have a Konica Minolta DiMAGE Z6. I'm looking for a telephoto lens for it, or atleast one that gets me some more zoom, but still keeps the picture clear. As I'm relatively new to photography, I need some help.

Are any of these lenses any good? Which one would be the best for what I want to do with it?

http://www.butterflyphoto.com/shop/p...?sku=MINAF50MM

http://www.butterflyphoto.com/shop/p...ku=MINAF75-300

http://www.butterflyphoto.com/shop/p...ku=MINAF28-100

Re: Minolta Lenses? Help!

Well since the Z6 isn't a DSLR then you can't change lenses, you are pretty much stuck with the one on the camera. These lenses were designed for the Maxxum line of film and DSLR cameras. The Z6 does offer converter lenses which go over your pre-existing lens, but this will make your pictures suffer. Sorry to break this to you, but all is not lost. The Z6 is a great camera to learn on and when you are ready you can easily jump into the DSLR realm and have total control over every picture.

How much reach do you need? Your camera has the effective reach of 420mm in 35mm film terms. That is quite a bit of zoom, especially for it to be optical.