Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Just bought a A55! Now...the hard part....

...I need lenses! As a student, I'm on a budget, so I'm looking to get some nice older minolta's. The question I have is can ALL Minolta lenses be used on the a55? I'm looking at a cheap 1.4 prime lens, but it's MD/MC (whatever that means!). Will it work on the a55? Please help a noob out, thanks!!

Re: Just bought a A55! Now...the hard part....

No, the MC/MD (actually called the SR-mount) will not fit on an A55 without an adaptor which is generally not considered worth it. All lenses labelled as Maxxum or A-mount or Alpha-mount or Minolta Auto Focus (AF) will work. Here is a cut from an old post with recommendations. - Terry

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Here are some possible lenses stressing value (all used 'legacy' Minolta):

Minolta 50mm f/1.7 $100
    Minolta 35-70 f/4 $50
    Minolta 70-210 f/4 'beercan' $175

$325 total that would surpass my talents for years.

I went with the Minolta 50mm f/1.4 for $218 instead of the f/1.7 and picked up the 28-75mm f/2.8 for $328 for better low light (indoors) and a little wider with the zoom. I also found that I really liked macro and splurged for a beautiful Minolta 100mm 2.8 Macro for $346 – a steal. I find I seldom use anything other than the beercan for the back yard and the macro for close-ups.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------