Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

noob help a390 teleconverter problem

Hello im just getting into the world of photography, i have a sony a390 and i decided to pick up a 2x teleconverter. I got a quantaray af x2 one made for minolta that has the 8 pin af connecter. Anyways when i put it on my camera along with the 18-55 sony lens that came with the camera it will not take a picture. The af illumator flashes but no pic is taken. The af is working as you can see the lens adjusting in and out. Also just so you know i have both af switches flicked on, (the one on the camera and lens) I spent $70 for the teleconverter so i hope i didnt get burned, any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks !

Re: noob help a390 teleconverter problem

The 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 becomes an f/7.1-11 with the 2x TC attached. The AF system will not work with an aperture (officially) smaller than f/5.6 so, even though it is trying to AF, it cannot. It may work at the minimum focal distance with the f/7.1??? - Terry
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.
    -----------------
    Feel free to edit my photos or do anything else that will help me learn.
    -----------------
    Sony/Minolta - way more gear than talent.

I thought the AF would still find focus, it just needed to be very bright and solid contrast.

Putting a 2x teleconverter on an 18-55 is a very poor idea.