Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

A200 focussing question

hi!

im new to photography ... i bought myself the A200 twin lens kit as i had a baby 4 months ago and i want to take better than average shots of him my question is about focussing.. hes still immobile in the sense that he stays in one place BUT he is very wriggly and doesnt sit still.. so what setting should i have the focussing on ? what do you usually do for moving animals etc ?

i had it on continous focus but then i cant use Wide cos i find that the camera mostly doesnt guess the correct sensor and i like to keep my aperture wide so the focus is really important.. spot focus doesnt work on continous, you cant focus lock so i ended up missing the focus a lot as it would jsut refocus in the centre.. and i find selecting the correct sensor myself too fiddly, i miss the moment.. so i guess i choose single instead of continous even though he's moving ? then use spot .. focus lock and recompose ?

i dont mind manual focus but i also dont know how to tell which is the sharpest sharpest point.. like a subject will be in focus for a small section of a turn so how do i know exactly where to stop ? hope that makes sense.

as you can tell im a super newbie

Re: A200 focussing question