Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Nascar Pit Photos

Thanks to member Jimmy B, who is an official Nascar tech, I got to spend a few hours last week in the pits at Miller Motorsports Park, near Salt Lake City. I took two test cameras, the Olympus E-P1 and the Nikon D5000. These photos were taken with the Olympus.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Nascar Pit Photos-_7311044.jpg   Nascar Pit Photos-_7311045.jpg   Nascar Pit Photos-_7311075.jpg   Nascar Pit Photos-_7311060.jpg   Nascar Pit Photos-_7311034.jpg  

Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!

Re: Nascar Pit Photos

I love how you have the mountains in the background in a few of the shots. The second one is particularly striking - almost a painted effect.
    DISCLAIMER: I am just a newbie. If I comment on your image I am only stating what I like and/or see. Otherwise, I have little technical knowledge to contribute.

Backgrounds

Quote Originally Posted by Mimi111
    I love how you have the mountains in the background in a few of the shots. The second one is particularly striking - almost a painted effect.
    Thanks for commenting on my Nascar photos. The background is an often neglected, but critical element of a photo. I am always looking at my backgrounds trying to use them to compliment the subject and convey a sense of place. The soft background is a combination of a long lens and a large aperture. Try it!
    Photo-John

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

I love how you have the mountains in the background in a few of the shots.
    That is a P-J signature landscape-with-sports shot
    PAul

Scroll down to the Sports Forum and post your sports pictures !