Photography Software & Post Processing Forum

Photography Software Forum Discuss Adobe Photoshop, RAW conversion, photography software, and anything related to digital photo processing. Forum moderator is GB1.
Digital Photography Software Reviews >>
Write A Review >>
Adobe Photography Software User Reviews >>
Photography Software News & Articles >>

Thread: PS CS3 vs. CS5

PS CS3 vs. CS5

Need some convincing that CS5 is worth it. I mean I know it will give me full 64bit support but as an amateur photographer I'm trying to convince myself it's worth upgrading. I'm currently running CS3 Web Suite but only using PS out of it and thinking of grabbing PS CS5 on education discount for $199 before I finish my last class. It's coming out of my tax return if I do it and I've got CS5 and one other item (new video card) that I'm debating between. I can't do both because I need to use most of the return to be responsible and pay off some credit cards. What do you guys think? Will I see enough of a difference between the two versions to make it worth it?

GB1

Re: PS CS3 vs. CS5

I have CS5. I haven't used CS3 but I did have CS2 which was becoming obsolete.

I'm not a good PS user and still have a ways to climb, but I think the two most important differences on this version are its HDR refinement and Content Aware fills. I think there's various fixes and improvements here and there in the other areas.

Content Aware: at first I really felt Adobe pulled a fast one on us. I still do to an extent, as it works no where near as good as that demo they gave us about two years ago. If you look close (and all serious photographers will), you will easily be able to see where it was post processed. You need to work on it some more afterward to hide that. However - I've since learned that it works a lot better in small increments, and I've gotten some useful fixes out of it.