Photography As Art Forum

This forum is for artists who use a camera to express themselves. If your primary concern is meaning and symbolism in photography, then you've come to the right place. Please respect other community members and their opinions when discussing the meaning of "art" or meaning in images. If you'd like to discuss one of your photos, please upload it to the photo gallery, and include a link to that gallery page in your post. Moderators: Irakly Shanidze, Megan, Asylum Steve

Cool Photographers Block

Hello,

I completed a photography diploma at the end of 2004. And since then have had a photographers block. I don’t have any idea what to photograph!, this has been a problem that has come up afew times. What do you do when you come across this problem?. My main subject matter is architecture, food and nature.

The camera I use is a Canon EOS 3000N, 38 – 80mm lens, which has its limitations, but is still usefull. Buying new equipment isn’t an option at the moment. But further on in the year I plan to purchase a 100mm 2.8 macro for photographing food, still life, product shots for my folio, and possibly a telephoto.

If you would like to see examples of some of my work , I have a basic site:

http://sarahfarthing.tripod.com/

Thankyou!.

Sarah Farthing.

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Shooting exercises...

You have some nice work, Sarah. Yeah, unfortunately, block is a common problem for any creative field. Just be glad you don't write a daily newspaper column or draw a daily cartoon or comic strip. Block in those fields can be deadly...

There are several steps you can take to help prevent block and also exercises you can practice to help get you out of it.

I make it a point to write down every shooting or artistic idea I have immediately when I think of it (which, btw, may be why a lot of drivers honk at me in traffic, heh heh). I also note locations I see as I drive that might make good spots to shoot.