Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Thread: Rappers

Rappers

Looking for C+C on photos taken of some Minneapolis based rappers. They go by the name, 'Savage'
    This was shot on an AE-1

Re: Rappers

I am no portrait expert ...but first off: much better if you focus on one image at a time. That way the responses will be for that specific image. I think, in general the single flash fired so close seems to cast a very strong shadow on the white wall behind the subject. Try getting the subject more forward and consider using a diffuser to scatter the light so it can be less harsh. I think the one with the smoke has most potential.

I think llewpics is right on target with his comments. The first thing I noticed were the harsh shadows on the wall. Like he said, move them away from the wall and you'll soften up those shadows. You could also try using a flash bracket that puts the flash higher and moves the shadows down behind the subject - that's a standard portrait photography trick. Add a diffuser and you should be able to eliminate the shadow completely.