Pentax and K-Mount Cameras Forum

Pentax Cameras Forum For discussing Pentax cameras and all K-Mount SLRs, including Pentax and Samsung digital SLRs. Your Pentax Cameras Forum moderator is ken1953.
Pentax Digital SLR Reviews >>
Samsung Digital SLR Reviews >>
Pentax 35mm SLR Reviews >>
All Pentax Product Reviews >>

New Owner Looking for your Advice.

Hello Everyone.

My name is Ignacio and I am classical guitarist who loves photography.

After having some point and shoots I just got my first dslr which is a Samsung GX-1L which for what I've read is a clone of the pentax *ist DL.

Having a lot of things to learn (Really a lot!) I would like to buy a Zoom lens for it.

I am of course in a budget because I am not a pro and I just got my self into it so I was thinking to buy a Zoom Lens 200mm or 300mm withing the $100 range and of course within that the best I can afford according to your advice.

I've found, Tokina, Tamron,Sigma, Quantaray, Samyang, Takumar... So many... and I know that some of them I should stay away so...

If you only have $100 and you owe my camera What Lens would you buy and (even better) where?

Thank you!

Ignacio

Re: New Owner Looking for your Advice.

Tokina, Tamron, and Sigma are all decent lens manufacturers.

I don't think you will find a good zoom for $100, but can get decent consumer lenses for $130 or so (tho I haven't checked on prices recently).

I paid about $130 for my Tamron 75-300 LD Macro and it was worth every penny.

Here is where I bought it - http://www.photographyreview.com/PRD_96820_3128crx.aspx

Buydig is a reputable company. I bought my DL kit and Tamron from them.

Tim
    My blog - Photography Rulez

'Slim' - K10D and *ist DL w/ SMCP DA 70mm 2.4 Limited, SMCP-DA 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, SMC M 28mm f/2.8, SMC M 50mm f/1.7, and Tamron AF75-300mm f/4-5.6 LD Macro
    Slim of the Clan O'Canon - A1 w/ FD 28, 50, 70-210 & Sigma 500/1000 f8/f16

Thanks Cyberlord!