Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Question about settings with moving subject...

I'm a newbie trying to learn how to use a new camera. Today I was tinkering around with settings and whatnot (as I do daily) and tried using the "sports" setting to get a shot of my daughter zipping around the living room with her baby stroller. I've taken countless shots of her using the flash, but it doesnt really depict "movement" and seemed rather boring to me. The shots I got today were somewhat puzzling. The background was really blurred (in a movement type way) but she was completely out of focus in every shot I took. I know I focused on her...so I'm not sure what I did wrong. Maybe I needed to be further away or maybe there wasn't enough light??? Perhaps the DOF was too shallow? Any help would be grately appreciated. I'm trying to get a "first steps" type of photo since she should be walking on her own any day now.

Here's a sample of what I'm talking about.

Re: Question about settings with moving subject...

From looking at your profile, I take it you are using the kit lens? You might be to close to her. Are you also moving, panning, to catch the shot?

The picture does look bright enough.

I am not familiar with your camera, what other settings ISO, f stop so. I don't know what you can change in the "Sports" mode, just asking.

James

With this shot, it looks more like motion due to a slow shutter speed than because of a focus problem or a small depth of field.