Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

print or slide film

i am a 100 percent newbie. i just got my new n80 with nikkor 24-85mm lens today. i've never used an slr before. i am hearing that slide film will give me better results. i am also confused about processing. does one simply process slide film the same way as with print? i read somewhere that the cost of using slide is less, so i was wondering about costs of devoloping. do you have to develop every roll? i will be shooting mainly outdoor and landscape.

Slides versus prints

Slide film developing is cheaper, and IMHO the work flow is easier for archiving, etc. But, if the final image you want is a print, slide images won't be of much value to you unless you have a good film scanner or are willing to pay to have prints made from slides. So, the first question you need to ask is what kind of finished image your want.

May advice would be to shoot print film if you want prints, and slide film if you only need a few prints, or just want projected images. In terms of the price difference, I pay about $12 per 36 shot roll for film and developing of slides, and about $20 per roll for film and high-end developing of print film per 36 shot roll. You could probably knock about $3 or $4 per roll off the cost, if you develop at Walgreen's or Walmart.

Slide film gives you less exposure latititude, but more color differentiation. It's also more sensitive to the use of filters, and under-exposes really well. For these reasons, I think you get better images from it. However, some of this is lost when you print slides.

Print film is has greater exposure latititude, and over-exposes really well. Is available in faster speeds, and is just all-around good stuff.