Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: Is it possible?

Question Is it possible?

I have a nice photo here of my son Blake who, sadly we lost last year just before his 21st birthday. I'm no expert in photography but i know that many of you out there are. I know that it's a small file size and i would like to know if any of you could, using your very clever and expensive editing programmes such as ''Photoshop'' could increase it's resolution and turn it in to a photo that i could get printed at A4 size that i could then frame as a present for his mum.
    Maybe impossible? If so please PM me and i will send it to you at a somewhat larger file size.
    Many thanks for any efforts or advice.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Is it possible?-dcp_0093-640x640.jpg  

GB1

Re: Is it possible?

Hi lenjames

Sorry to hear the fellow passed away at such a young age.

Whether or not it can be done so that it's not too fuzzy or blurry depends on how large an image it currently is. A4 is approximately 8 inches by 11 inches printed. Normally, the photo labs here ask for something like a file resolution of 300 pixels per inch, so they would ask for an 8 x 300 by 11 x 300 pixel image, which is 2400 x 3300 image size. I know that a picture can be increased in resolution by using a technique called "up res", but I am not sure what it takes to do so, not having done it.

Hopefully someone who has will reply here!

GB
    Photography Software and Post Processing Forum Moderator. Visit here!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Feel free to edit and repost my photos as part of your critique.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Site