Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

newbie questions

I have the opportunity to buy a camera (up to $250) and am looking at the Fuji FinePix F20or F30.
    1. What does video speed 30fps (F20) or 10fps (F30) mean?
    2. shutter response of 2.2 frames/sec(F20) vs. .7 frames/sec (F30) (I'm an amateur photog, mostly sightseeing & hanging with friends/family usage)
    3. shutter speed 4-1/2000 (F20) vs. 15-1/2000 sec (F30)
    4. should I be considering other brands? (or will just get myself crazy with more options)
    5. my sister has 2 1GB xD memory cards she can give me for these cameras, or should I go with a camera that uses sD cards?

Thanks for all the help,
    Margie

Re: newbie questions

fps = frames per second. The higher the number the more frames captured per second and the smoother the video playback will be (it's made up of a series of still images). Higher fps will take more memory based on the same size of the image though.

Videos are usually captured at smaller sizes (maybe 640 x 480 pixels) than still images because of the high fps rate. The other rate (2.2 vs. 0.7) would be at a higher and probably maximum resolution. Neither of these is very fast, actually, and you'll still have better luck timing your shot carefully if something is moving fast. Easier said than done though.

The shutter speed difference is at the long exposure end - I think that's 15 seconds vs. 4 seconds. You'd need a tripod or some other sturdy support or you'll have blurry images below about 1/30 anyway. This might not be a big deal either.