Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Help with Nikon D70 - delay in taking shots

I'm back! I need some help with my camera. I am still learning how to use this thing and so far so good until today. I took it out to take a picture and when I tried to take the shot there was a big delay before the picture took and then the shot was blurred. I had my sb 50 dx on the camera and there was adequate lighting for a picture besides. I also removed the flash to see if that was causing the trouble and then resetting the camera menu to default settings and no luck. It still did it again. Can anyone help with this? I'm sure a button was pressed that should not have been but I can't figure it out. Help please!!! Thanks for any info.

So that's how the story ended! I was wondering...

Sounds to me like you might have a short self timer turned on. I don't have a D70, but on my Fuji (Nikon N80 body), there's a dial on the left side of the camera (where the film rewind knob used to be). That's how you put it into self timer mode, and the amount of delay can be changed. I use a 2-second self timer with long shutter speeds on a tripod, instead of a cable release.

That would also explain why it's still doing it after resetting it, too. Maybe the shot is blurry because you are wondering why the shutter hasn't fired, and the shutter fires at the moment when you take the camera away from your eye to see what's going on... (wanna know why I guess this?).

When the camera is on single servofocus, it has to lock focus before firing, and that sometimes takes a little while depending on conditions. Maybe that's it?
    -Seb

My website

(Please don't edit and repost my images without my permission. Thank you)