Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: Loading Film

Loading Film

Good Day,

I was wondering if anyone on this board would be able to help me with some problems I am having with my camera. It's a Bell Howell 24mm, which takes Kodak Advantix 400 film(25EXP).

Today I loaded the camera and it counted to 1, on its digital display, I thought that it was suppose to count from zero? When I finished taking all 25 pictures my camera did not count from 25 back to zero it just made a funny grinding noise and began to flash E. Did I ruin that roll?

Also, am I loading the film incorrectly? I am very new at this so please be patient.

I hope someone can get back to me regarding this A.S.A.P.

Thanks

Re: Loading Film

In the APS (Advanced Photo System) format - which is what this is - there is no way to load the film wrong, because it will only go in the camera one way. It goes in right, or not at all.

The frame counters on these, usually indicate either the next frame to be shot - or the number of frames remaining. Thus it would not be unusual for it to begin at 1.

The normal rewinding cycle at the end of the roll, is usually several seconds of a 'funny whiny grinding sound' - though they don't usually 'Flash E', which means there may be a problem. Something jammed - either the film caught on something, or a mechanical malfunction - in which case it will take a technician to retrieve the film.

Try one thing, just to be sure: try opening the film door - but don't force it. It's possible the roll rewound normally and is ready to pop out intact. But if the film door won't pop open freely, then the film is still extended from the cartridge, and caught up in the works. Repair shop time.

Smile Re: Loading Film