Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.
    Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Question How to shoot lightning?

We had a big thunderstorm roll thru our neck of the woods last night. We were in Madison checking out the Corps Flower when it hit. All the way home I just watched the lighting and wished I had my camera with me, and a place to set up to shoot it. By the time I got home tho, the rain had moved in and the lightning was gone for the most part. I have never tried to shoot lightning before so it would have been an experiment for me to say the least. So does anyone have any advice for me when the next storm rolls in? I will most likely be shooting with my DRebel, but film is always an option as well if you think that would be better. So what are your thoughts? digital or film? film choice? shutter speed? f/ stop? wide angle, telephoto?

Any advice would be great.
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold

Re: How to shoot lightning?

Tripod, cable release, bulb, f/8, ISO 100 or 200 and keep the shutter open for a few seconds at a time, hoping that you'll get some lightning in the frame.
    -Seb

My website

(Please don't edit and repost my images without my permission. Thank you)

How to tell the most experienced shooter in a group? They have the least amount of toys on them.

Thanks for the tips Seb! This should give me a great place to start next time a storm rolls thru!
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog