Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.
    William W

Question Negative-only Processing Quality Differences

Hello All,

After a posting hiatus of a over a year, I'm back, but with a new name (since I couldn't remember my previous one). It is great to see this group has grown and been so successful in photography education and sharing.

My question is: I just shot a wedding (about 10 rolls) yesterday. I have limited experience with weddings (two small ones), and I live in an area that doesn't offer much by way of quality labs. For the couple, money somewhat is an issue, and I'm doing it for the experience of it. I am wondering if processing of the negatives ONLY would differ much between a local 1-hour mini-lab, a local semi-pro shop I use intermittently and a more pro shop two hours away I wanna try out. Any applicable experiences?

I am thinking of the best route of developing and providing prints, proofs, contacts, or scans from which we can decide upon enlargements and reprints. Obviously handling the negatives to avoid scratching is a difference, but the mini-lab seems to be pretty good about this. I'm avoiding making final prints at this mini-lab because recently they switched to printing all prints with a printer, rather than a light process, and the quality took a big hit.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

Shoot technical info:
    4 rolls Portra 400NC (most at ceremony) (shot at 320 ISO)
    2 rolls Portra 400UC (some posed shots and some reception/flowers) (at 320 ISO)
    2 rolls NPS (reception with windows) (at 125 ISO)
    2 rolls Ilford Delta 400
    Nikon N90S w/ Nikon SB25 and Nikon 35-70 2.8D
    Nikon FE w/ Vivitar 287HV and Nikon 50 1.8
    81A filter to warm up the flash blues and stained-glass window blues
    Bogen Manfrotto tripod
    2 Motrins