Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Night Scenes/Exposure?

I need some help with taking night shots, please. I'm new to photography, and due to my pretty messed up sleeping schedule (17, out of school ) I tend to have a lot of night photography opportunities. I have an Elan 7, 35-135mm lens, I use Kodak Max Versatility+ 800, and Fuji NPH 400 films.
    When I focus on subjects (near and far) at night, the recommended exposure leaves the shutter speed at like 1.5", and aperture at 4.0..so is there any trick to getting the right exposure, I should know about? Or should I just invest in a tripod, and accept these settings?

Thanks, and forgive my ignorance..I'm learning .

With the low light levels that you get at night you will get long exposure times. Basically, it takes a certain amount of light reaching the film to make an exposure. Three things affect exposure (at least as long as we're not talking about flash): Film Speed (ISO), Aperture and Shutter Speed. It's like an equation - if the reading is 1 second at f4, you could get a 50mm f1.4 lens and you'd have 1/8 second at f1.4 which still wouldn't be possible without a tripod. If there's not much light to begin with, then even by using fast ISO film and setting the aperture wide open, you probably won't get a hand-holdable shutter speed. The combination of an f1.4 lens and 3200 speed black and white film might work without a tripod in some situations, but not often.