Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>
    Beginner short film maker

help with sony handycam differences

hey all,

I've recentley decided that I'll probably be getting a Sony Handycam.

On the Sony Australia website, there are two cameras shown. The DCRTRV265 and the DCRTRV460. They are shown here
    http://www.sony.com.au/dis/catalog/p...tegoryId=22122

From what I can tell (I'm new to the world of video cameras) the only real difference is that DCRTRV460 records as MPEGs, and the DCRTRV265 records onto tapes. There is a $200 AU price difference between the two.

I was going to get the 460, but saw that it only recorded at 320x240 resolution. I feel that this is far too small. Does anyone know if this resolution could be increased while keeping quality as much as possible?

The 265 records to tapes. If I was to get the tapes to play on computer, what resolution would I be able to have it at on computer?

Is the 460 worth the extra money? What special features would it have that I've missed? Is recording to MPEG better then recording to tapes?

Do you think Sony handycams are generally good/worth getting?

Sorry for so many questions, thanks heaps to anyone who is able to help out with these. It would be much appreciated.

MJS
    Digital Video Moderator
    Do you still have 8 mm tapes that you need to watch. If not, I would stick to one of the MiniDV format camcorders. Both of the units you mention record to Digital 8. It will also playback the old 8mm format. The more expensive camera will also use a memory stick that will allow you to record short mpeg files to the stick and low res. digital stills. It is not as sharp, nor has the length of the digital tape format.