Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Yet Another 'Which One' Thread, But With A Twist

Hi everyone. This is my first post in this forum. I love to take pictures and I love to play with Photoshop. I am in IT for a living so the computer part of photography is lots of fun for me.

Currently I only own a Canon SD700 IS P&S. Actually I love it quite a lot. It fits into my pocket and takes great pictures, especially after I've played with them a little in PS.

However, I would like to learn more about photography and the SD700 IS is not going to provide me that opportunity as it doesn't support much manual operation.

OK, I said there was a twist. Here it is: The corporation I work for has an awards program. I have been with the company for many years and over time have accumulated a lot of these award points. Now I want to use them to get my first DSLR. The two important things to consider are:

1. I can only choose from among those offered in the program
    2. For me it will be COMPLETELY FREE! Price is eliminated from the consideration (how's that for a twist).

Here are the cameras that I could get:

Canon Rebel XTi with standard 18-55mm kit lens
    Nikon D50 with standard 18-55mm kit lens
    Sony A100 with standard kit lens
    Olympus E-500 with standard kit lens

Unless someone could argue it strongly, I am not really interested in the Olympus. Their future seems uncertain to me and Canon and Nikon are really industry leaders. The Sony is interesting but I welcome opinions on the value of that unit.

Agreed, I am only a beginning amateur in photography. But I like to have quality technology and I would like to be able to grow with the camera for a while instead of having to buy another one.