Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

new DSLR - which features are key? Nikon D70 vs Canon 20D

Hello,

Like many others in this forum, I am currently trying to decide on my first DSLR.

I currently have a Nikon D70, new, in the box, with the lens. It was a gift, and I want to make sure it is the right camera for me before I open it.

After reading many messages in this forum, it seems the best way to choose a camera is to decide which features are important and to go from there. Problem is, I am new to digital photography, and I’m unsure which features might be key for my needs. I thought if I describe briefly what I intend to use the camera for, someone could perhaps give me advice on which features I should keep in mind.

I mainly want to do portrait photography, especially children. I plan to set up a small studio indoors, but also like to take outdoors portraits.

I want to be able to print photos at 16x20 occasionally. I was unable to find info on the D70 and this size print. If anyone has experience, I would love to hear it. I know the D70 has 6 MP, but from what I understand, the quality also depends on the lens and other factors. Is the Canon necessarily better because it offers 8 MP?

My current digital camera (not an SLR) is the Fuji S5000, and I hate it for one main reason – the AF is so slow, I miss almost every shot I want (children change FAST!). So a quick and accurate response is a must from my new camera. Also, a fast on/off is very desirable.

After reading reviews at dpreview.com, I found the negatives mentioned about the D70 are the small monitor, dust, and moiré. Is dust a problem with all cameras?