Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Question Need Help with my Rebel XT settings

I'm new to your threads - and I have read about all the photography language but I can not yet digest it. Could someone please suggest some settings for me to use - I have taken really good photos - but have recently played with my settings and now I don't know what they really should be on most of the time. I love taking portraits - either close up or when they are about 8' away.
    I know my ISO is set to 100 - and I think that is okay...I have an external flash accessory and I also use natural light a lot. But I don't know about this 1/200 thing on the left side of my screen...and I don't know about the f.5 or whatever - please forgive my ignorance but I'm curious what settings to use.
    THANKS!
    I'm looking forward to posting pics that I have taken recently to get some feedback.

Re: Need Help with my Rebel XT settings

There is no one best setting, the function of metering isn't cut and dry, you'll need to do research to find out how to best manipulate each of the metering functions for the specific scene you want to shoot. Its also not something one could briefly cover in a simple forum response either. If you are near a community college, you could check out one of their photography fundamentals course, which should acquaint you with the 3 functions of metering: ISO (sensitivity to light), Shutter speed, and Aperture.