Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: 0.42x adapt.

dzd

0.42x adapt.

Hey all this is my first post and I did my best to search for the answer but i'm new to SLR terms so maybe I didn't search for the right thing.

I just got a nikon D3000 with the 18-55mm kit and an additional 55-200. This is my first SLR so its just to wet my appetite. I have been experimenting with different techniques and am interesting in trying to get the Fish Eye effect, but with out the price.... therefore I searched and found this 0.42x adapt which I could mount on my exsiting lense and play with how the different focal lengths affect all the little settings. NOW, I know this is not the purest way to go and it is not a perfect solution, but does anyone have any suggestions on a specific adapt for under say 100 bucks hopefully 50 to 80 that I could mount to my 52mm thread and play with the affects of what a fish eye lens would give?

or does anyone have any other method in which I could go out and experience the wideangle/fisheye for very little money?

thanks in advance

dzd

Re: 0.42x adapt.

whoops forgot the link

http://stores.channeladvisor.com/Cam...itemid=2989885

something like this???

These lens adapters obliterate image quality, CA (chromatic abberation) is a problem common among lower end lens, which creates colored fringing in areas of high contrast. You can expect these adapters to have abysmal CA control. Using it outdoors, you can expect trees and anything that contrasts the sky to have purple/yellow/blue fringing all over the place. You can also expect enormous distortion problems (where shapes become bowed), much moreso then any standard ~ 10mm lens.