Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Image sensor size, pixels, resolution - laymen's terms needed please

Hello everyone,

I'm extremely new to SLRs (I was basically used to the point-n-shoot-n-hope the pic comes out method prior to this) and trying to learn as much as I can about them before making any silly moves on a purchase I may come to regret later on.

Anyways, would someone be able to explain in laymen's terms what image sensor size is and how it relates to megapixels and resolution? I've been reading around and understand that a full frame sensor will capture a larger portion of a view compared with a smaller sensor, all else held constant, but what does this mean about the pixels and resolution?

Also, I have read that generally I am better off having a larger image sensor using fewer megapixels than a smaller image sensor with more megapixels -- is this correct, and if so, why is that?

Thanks in advance.

Pixel Size Matters

Welcome to the site, EmPea. I do believe we can help. Or at least confuse you more...

Pixel size is the key. The bigger the pixel, the better the image quality should be. A digital camera sensor contains millions of pixels, hence the term, "megapixel." The more pixels on a given sensor size, the smaller those pixels will have to be and the more image quality will be compromised.