Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
    Likes to play in cemeteries GraveyardMistress's Avatar

Question First DLSR questions

I am shopping for my first DSLR... I read the "what's the best?" FAQ, but I'm still not sure. I just recently bought my first film SLR (Canon T2), and I love it I'm still learning on it, and I still do have a lot to learn... I was going to wait until I had more experience with it before I went digital, but now I almost thinking that a DSLR would be better to learn on - no developing costs! I am so used to using my digital point and shoot that going back to film takes a little getting used to, and I'm going through a LOT of film.

That leads me to a couple of questions - what is a good DLSR to start out with? I have been eyeing the Rebel XT right now. I keep reading that it is more about lenses than the actual camera, but I can't afford to get a lot of lenses right off, so what would be a good lense to start with? And as far as megapixels, from what I've heard more isn't always better. Opinions?

Also, and this might be a silly question, but are the lenses interchangable between the film and digital SLRs, provided they are the same brand? That is what is keeping me looking at Canon right now, because I hear the Nikons are nice as well.

Sorry for all the questions - I know these same questions are probably posted a lot. And thanks for the help!

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: First DLSR questions

I NEVER recommend a certain camera.
    I also don't know what kind of budget you are on. I saved money here and there for almost a year to buy my D80.