Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Question Fashion cameras - the argument (help!) :(

Note: Keep in mind, when I say "best" what I'm really talking about is image quality (which I'm also taking lenses HIGHLY into consideration), color processing, etc., etc. I do know that personal preference plays a big if not the biggest role in deciding which camera is
    "best". c: Thanks for your help!!

Hi! I've been practicing photography for six years now, most primarily fashion photography, and I plan on going to school for it later this year. Currently, I use an Olympus E500, which is a nice little camera, but has its own share of disadvantages, especially for what I want to do.

Image quality, and the ability to come out with large prints, is a big thing I am considering. I am also taking lenses into HUGE consideration, as well as the opportunities each brand offers.

I have been looking so far at the Nikon D90 (was looking also at the D300 but I think I've decided it's a little too much for me...), the Canon EOS 50D, and, finally, as recommended to me by a professional who does a little work in this field, the Sony a850. I discussed this option with another working professional in an entirely different setting who agreed that would probably be the best set-up I could get, especially for my dollar. For starters, Sony does offer a few technical things that I could really use, such as their patented slaving external flashes to work in a similar way to strobes, their rotating hotshoe flashes, and the a850 has a really cool, very simplistic, straight-forward set-up, which would be ideal, since I don't really want to deal with all the crap I won't ever be using. cx