Note: Keep in mind, when I say "best" what I'm really talking about is image quality (which I'm also taking lenses HIGHLY into consideration), color processing, etc., etc. I do know that personal preference plays a big if not the biggest role in deciding which camera is
"best". c: Thanks for your help!!

Hi! I've been practicing photography for six years now, most primarily fashion photography, and I plan on going to school for it later this year. Currently, I use an Olympus E500, which is a nice little camera, but has its own share of disadvantages, especially for what I want to do.

Image quality, and the ability to come out with large prints, is a big thing I am considering. I am also taking lenses into HUGE consideration, as well as the opportunities each brand offers.

I have been looking so far at the Nikon D90 (was looking also at the D300 but I think I've decided it's a little too much for me...), the Canon EOS 50D, and, finally, as recommended to me by a professional who does a little work in this field, the Sony a850. I discussed this option with another working professional in an entirely different setting who agreed that would probably be the best set-up I could get, especially for my dollar. For starters, Sony does offer a few technical things that I could really use, such as their patented slaving external flashes to work in a similar way to strobes, their rotating hotshoe flashes, and the a850 has a really cool, very simplistic, straight-forward set-up, which would be ideal, since I don't really want to deal with all the crap I won't ever be using. cx