Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Re: DSLR price drops... how often

Since the D70s is a new model, I wouldn't expect to see a price drop for awhile. You might still find a new D70, which is the predecessor to the D70s, around at a bargain price. There's a firmware upgrade that you can do that will give it most of the advantages of a D70s.

Usually price drops happen before a new model comes out, to clear out the old inventory. Sometimes they happen because a new competitive camera comes out but the Canon Rebel XT just came out too. Might be awhile...

DSLR price drops... how often

Hi all,

I am new to photography and I am thinking of buying myself a digital SLR.

Anyone here knows how often the DSLR price drops? The camera I am interested in is the Nikon D70s. It was introduced only a few months ago so the price is still very high.I really like to get it as soon as possible, but is there a chance for a price drop during the holiday seasons?

Ranter and raver.

I agree with another view. You usually see two or three price drops:

The cycle is generally like this: The new camera comes out and whoever has it in stock sells it at or very close to the list price. A couple of months later there is a drop of about 25%. The camera stays at that price for a long time, though there is occationally a nice rebate offered during that time if another company comes out with a camera that is perceived to be a better value (same price for more features, same features for less money, ect.). Then there is a store level price drop (clearance) and/or a manufacture's rebate when the camera is about to be discontinued.

Cnet's