Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Canon and Nikon Quality and Quality Control

I'm looking into quality and quality control between the two big companies; Canon and Nikon for a project.

Please share any experiences that you have had and feel free to go as in depth as you like. Whether it be something that didn't live up to your expectations, something that was faulty, problems getting the equipment repaired, unnecessary time + cost lost etc...

I look forward to reading them.

Only negative experiences?

I've been using Nikon for 10 years and if you're looking for negative experiences and quality control problems then I would have nothing to write. Usually I'm delighted - each generation gets better and I'm continually surprised when I discover new improvements (example: 3200ISO on the D60).

The only thing that's gone wrong with my Nikon gear is my 35mm f2 - the diaphragm doesn't seem to close down any more, after not being used for a long time. I believe that this is a known problem with this lens (which dates from the mid 1990's).
    Charles

Nikon D800, D7200, Sony RX100m3
    Not buying any more gear this year. I hope

Re: Canon and Nikon Quality and Quality Control

Nikon had a bad patch in the mid 80s with their first generation auto focus cameras, but they learned from it. Their main strength though is their legacy lens support.

Canon has had solid DSLRs from the gitgo, IMHO. Frankly, both companies are at the top of their game right now and I think you'd be happy with either.

Hi all. Thankyou for the responses so far. For future reference please ensure that you are making your observations from personal experience and 'state' this. Links to other resources are more than welcome.