Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Buying my First DSLR.

Hi, I am a long time traveler, and ive been to many countries and on many trips. Coming up soon, im going to the Galapagos Islands and Machu Picchu, and ive realized that a simple P&S camera just wont be good enough for me anymore. Coming home from trips like this, i would much rather have better quality pictures, and also, i think i would have more fun taking the pictures while im there, if i had a DSLR camera.

So, being an amateur, i was hoping someone could recommend to me a couple entry level DSLR cameras, that would be a good start to my new hobby. My price range is flexible, but i would only like to pay more if the upgrade is worth the money. I do not need the latest and greatest!

Thanks in advance.

Re: Buying my First DSLR.

This is one of the best packages available in terms of quality and price.

http://www.amazon.com/Olympus-Digita...0386650&sr=1-4

wow, ive been looking for days, and i couldnt find anything close to as good as that...

olympus is as 'quality' as nikon and canon, right?

Quote Originally Posted by red05usa
    wow, ive been looking for days, and i couldnt find anything close to as good as that...

olympus is as 'quality' as nikon and canon, right?
    DSLR's are better than point-and-shoots for several reasons:

- the sensor is much bigger so it is better at collecting light. The overall look of the picture is improved and the sensitivity of the sensor (ISO) can be pushed further without the picture being mushed up by noise
    - DSLR's have sophisticated systems for focussing and measuring light which point-and-shoots don't have