Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

finally decided... but what to buy?

ive been wanting to get DSLR for quite some time...

i have been using my old Canon SD200 most of the time and when my dad gave me his old Pentax Z-10 SLR, I realized how expensive it was with films and developing...

So ive decided to buy used DSLR but im quite new to DSLR and ive decided to ask few recommandations.

I will be doing lot of landscape photographing (with tripod). Since im a meteorology student, i would like to take few random pictures and perhaps doing time setting shots frame by frame to get changes in the sky and all. For this reason, i would like to have good multishot function.
    I also will be taking lots of shot of storm & low light photography i guess... (lightening and all) which means I need to learn some techniques and functions to be able to get good shots but i guess i need something that can do the job well although i guess lens might be very important for this but do know, im not a pro or anything ;) so something not too high

I will be doing bit of photoshop and will start learning aperture once i get my new apple's laptop in September but ill mostly will stick to the original picture with minur editing. Also i wont be printing so much may be 10pictures every 1000 shots will be printed or less i guess.

Since it is going to be almost like a hobby for me, i dont want to get into too much of advenced stuff yet... may be once i graduate
    for now, im looking at used one at $500ish range.

Please let me know what kind of body and lens i should be looking at and

oh one more thing...