Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Need a new camera for nature trips

I am new to the board...hello to all.
    I am looking for an well rounded camera that I can take on trips to take some fairly high quality photos. I am willing to spend up to $600 - $750 CDN which is probably 450-550 USD. I am looking for something that can take long range photos, photos in low light conditions, photos with color depth, etc. I will be taking a mixture of photos for example, some will be of people, and others will be strictly nature shots.

Any suggestions on the specs to look at; for example, a fast lens, digital zoom, etc etc.

Ps I am new to the digital world and dont really know what specs to look for, so if you have any suggestions it is appreciated. Can you also guide me on what models/manufacturers to look at?

Thanks for the help.

Hi and welcome,

The camera that you seem to be describing is a bit of a tall order. Long digital point and shoot zooms tend to be a bit slow in terms of light let in and in operation, especially in that price range. To my knowledge, low light operation vs long zoom range is a trade off, rather than a combination in that category of camera.

What kind of film equipment do you use now and what kind of nature photography are you looking to do? Is low light or long range more important? Is your budget just for the camera, or does it include batteries, memory cards, etc? That would help narrow things down.