Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>
    Formerly Michael Fanelli, mwfanelli, mfa mwfanelli2's Avatar

Confusion, rambling a bit...

I am getting an extra lab class to teach this semester so there is a little extra money coming my way. Yeah, I could spend it on medical bills, paying the rent, eating but... well you know.

Here's the deal: I saw the first previews of the Canon G9 and thought this might be a pretty good camera in 6-8 weeks time. Having had the original G1, I like the look and feel of the G-series.

But here's the fly in the ointment. Way back in time, I used to be a pseudo-street photographer, way back when streets were first invented. I didn't take photos of the homeless as I truly feel that is exploitation. But I did get candid street scenes that would have been impossible if those involved noticed the camera. It was difficult but I did OK.

So... I was looking at the Canon S5. As I see it, the Canon S5 has the wonderful swivel LCD screen that most cameras have abandoned. I was thinking, with little good nature shots here in Eastern Maryland (for what I like at least), if I hung the S5 with the lens pointing forward and used the LCD screen pointing upwards towards me, street photography should be much easier. Right?