View Full Version : D50 for 549.00


Hampton
04-09-2006, 08:57 PM
How does this sound


Nikon D50
Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5 DX Auto Focus
256MB Memory Card
Memory Card Reader
Deluxe Cleaning Kit
Full Size Tripod
Pack of LCD Screen Protectors
Cap Keeper

All for the low low price of 549.00
I dont need the tripod and I would like to get a better memory card
so can anyone bet this price? I only need the camera and lens

This is from geniuscameras.com

Anbesol
04-10-2006, 05:02 AM
are you sure its the nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5 dx in that package? If so, I would jump right on that! Thats a (much) better kit lens then the one thats generally packaged with the d50 for usually $50-$100 more.

something sounds fishy about the deal, i'd make sure its legit, all those extras arent really important and i doubt theyd be of any real quality - but make sure that D50 and lens are for real, not refurbs or used or anything.

zrfraser
04-10-2006, 07:28 AM
genuiscameras will try to use the bait and switch to make the price much higher. They probably don't have the camera and lens combo in stock and will try to sell you one that is much higher. I would steer clear of geniuscamera at all costs.

Lava Lamp
04-10-2006, 07:49 PM
How does this sound


Nikon D50
Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5 DX Auto Focus
256MB Memory Card
Memory Card Reader
Deluxe Cleaning Kit
Full Size Tripod
Pack of LCD Screen Protectors
Cap Keeper

All for the low low price of 549.00
I dont need the tripod and I would like to get a better memory card
so can anyone bet this price? I only need the camera and lens

This is from geniuscameras.com

That price is too low. It's a scam. The camera and lens sells for about $850 at the reputable online discount shops. The rest of the stuff they are giving you is garbage you don't need, except fo the card, which you need, but is too small. Get a 1 GB one for $55 if you shop.

paulnj
04-11-2006, 11:13 AM
scam indeed! the D50 is $519 and the lens is $339 at reputable places.

PhotoRon286
04-11-2006, 02:20 PM
Run for the hills!

Geniuscameras is a fraud under many different names.

You'd be better off buying out of the back of a van in a mall parking lot.

Pharmr
04-28-2006, 06:49 AM
after looking at a TON of retailers when purchasing my D50 I went with Beach Camera....genius had a lot of horrible reviews and I wouldn't go near them....Beach had a factory refurbished D50 and a 18-55 lens for $469....that's what I got and I couldnt be happier...you'd never know it wasnt new...the onley thing that worried me was it only had a 90 day factory warranty...so I got a 5 year warranty for $79 to go with it.

dwaugh
05-01-2006, 08:31 PM
I got mine with a 28-80mm lens on amazon.com for about 740 dollars (including about 60 dollars or so of tax), I got it around christmas time on sale. It was the best deal that I could trust to be legit.

cyberlord
05-02-2006, 01:31 PM
Buydig.com has a refurbished w/ kit lens for $489 or brand new with kit lens $629.

Buydig is also known as Beach and they are reputable companies. I have bought through Buydig before and had great service and item was shipped as promised.

Tim