ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

I came this close....

...to getting some good fireworks shots!!! Still I'm relatively happy since this is my very first time shooting fireworks. I just used the pointers I read about on this site...

I use my F828, 5 or 10 second exposures @ F8. I didn't use a tripod because, I don't have one. I concidered borrowing one but ran out of time (I'm a chronic procrastinator). Anyway, I just rested the camera on cars at the Mavericks stadium (minor league ball park).. I had to pre frame and shoot when I heard the thud of a firework being shot into the air. As you can see, I missed the framing of the one that had the potential of being the best one!!! ARRGGHH!! I also suffered form pesky parking lot lights polluting my pictures..
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails I came this close....-dsc05533-640.jpg   I came this close....-dsc05535-640.jpg   I came this close....-dsc05537-640.jpg   I came this close....-dsc05541-640.jpg  

Not Bad At All

Quote Originally Posted by bmadau
    ...to getting some good fireworks shots!!! Still I'm relatively happy since this is my very first time shooting fireworks. I just used the pointers I read about on this site...