• 05-22-2006, 06:47 AM
    Liz
    Prints: Do-it-yourself or?
    Do most of you print your own images? Or, if not, do you edit the images before getting the prints? Also what is the difference in cost?

I had been using the local Walmart for 4x6 prints for a couple of years because they do an excellent job believe it or not. I would edit the images and the results always matched - believe it or not again. Now the same Walmart isn't doing any work from CF cards because it's the only card they need an insert for in their machine. They said the insert is expensive and every one of them has been stolen so they decided not to accept CF card images.

Until lately I had a good experience with Winkflash too. They never edited my prints, but the last batch was awful! So much for that.

I cannot find a place that doesn't edit the images, so am wondering if it would be cost-effective to get a printer. If it means taking a lot more of my time or it is a big learning curve to print my own, I can't go that route because I simply don't have the time.

Thanks for your experience and/or advice.

Liz
  • 05-22-2006, 07:12 AM
    walterick
    Re: Prints: Do-it-yourself or?
    Hey Liz

I just recently started printing my own pics. For use around the house, not for "profesional quality." I hate to have to tell you, for me there is a learning curve. The colors in your camera, monitor, and printer have to match. Mine are a bit off, and I don't want to have to buy all the color calibrating software to repair it. My ink costs about $5 off the internet, and Kodak gloss paper goes for about $20/50 sheets. So it more cost effective for me to print at home (plus I'm saving travel time.) But the quality is not as good as sending it out, yet. Whether or not you'll find it effective depends on how closely your prints match your screen, I think.