ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Intro and a question

Hello everyone! I am new to the group and thought I'd just say hello and start out with a basic question. And I apologize ahead of time - I get long winded.

I am really into scrapbooking, and while my scrapbooking talents improved over time, my photos really haven't. So about a year ago I started exploring photography more and what I could do to take better pictures. My husband bought me a Rebel XTi, and that was a start in the right direction. I LOVE it! I am still learning about what settings to use to get the best pictures, but it is already leaps and bounds better than the point and shoot I used to use.

Anyway, my question is... I've started looking into other lenses (I just have the one that came with it, the EF-S 18-55) and I am also thinking about getting a tripod. My concern is though is that with my busy life, I am afraid I'll invest a lot of money in additional equipment, but then I'll never put forth the effort to take everything with me and I'll be in a constant state of "I wish I had my XYZ lens, my tripod, etc., etc."

So what do you all do? Do you haul all your equipment around with you? Take it on special photography "outings" where you know you'll just be shooting pictures all day? What basic equipment do you always have with you?

Thanks! I can't wait to read more on this forum, I think I'll have a lot to learn from you all!

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: Intro and a question

Hello and welcome, Gracie.