ok, I did it...

Printable View

• 05-20-2004, 07:37 AM
    JBlake
    ok, I did it...
    Although I am not a prolific poster here on the boards, I visit every day to see what's going on. I really appreciate the community and the various opinions, ideas and suggestions brought to the 'table', and in fact have come to depend on this site as a wonderful resource in my photgraphic life.

So...the blame for my current lack of money and life falls partly on your shoulders, hehehe.

I bought a D70 a couple of days ago...think about it...me, a confirmed film shooter, buying digital. It's like I went schitzoid, or something...I don't know what possesed me, but something did because now I own a machine that seems so incredibly foriegn to me that I am not sure where to even begin. I am a manual reader, to be sure, but even that seems foreign at this point. Anyone care to share any tips on the digital learning curve issue?

I appreciate any advice.

Joe.
  • 05-20-2004, 07:46 AM
    Sebastian
    Just take pictures. Once you run into something that has you stumped, bust out the manual or ask here.
  • 05-20-2004, 07:48 AM
    Old Timer
    Curve is not that steep
    The curve is not that steep. You will be getting very good images in a relative short time, if you were proficient with you film SLR the DSLR will seem very natural to you. As you may know I too just purchased the D70 after a lifetime of film and a brief interlude with a Fuji S602Z. I was just like you a lurker here at PR and learned a lot over a couple of years before making the leap to a contributor. I hope that you will do the same and share some of your D70 images. We look forward to new blood and different styles. I am planning my first major trip with the D70 next week. We are headed to Texas to visit my son and I hope to give the D70 a real work out on some new scenery. Looking forward to your future post.

Larry
  • 05-20-2004, 07:59 AM
    Speed
    I Agree With Seb
    Quote: