ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

i'm stuck - what to charge?

I will likely be doing some promotional photos for a musician and i don't know what to charge him.

earlier this year i tooks some concert photos of his band and i got paid 50bucks and i probably put in 20hrs of work for it with shooting, selecting, editing and so on.

this job would be more involved, more technical -- planning, selection etc. -- but i don't want to over-charge. However, i REALLY don't want to be underpaid again. i need to eat, right?

I have a D70 with a few lenses. I'm just starting out, so i don't feel comfortable charging too much.

any advice?

thanks

Re: i'm stuck - what to charge?

I am not sure what to tell you but I wanted to say what I am doing. I am taking pictures for a wedding tomorrow...they know this is my first wedding.....I told them that I cannot guarantee anything as I have never done this before. I am charging them $100 plus all rights to the photos. That's it because I can get their pictures developed for that.......and I am primarily doing this for experience.
    I know it is a different situation but just thought I would let you know what I did and why. Good Luck!
    Summer Katz
    Katz Photography
    www.katzphotography.net

Analog Photographer, Digital World Axle's Avatar

What I do is charge by the hour, flat rate $20.00/hr + any processing and materials used (if I use film, or get stuff printed). I keep track of my time and present them with a clearly laid out bill.

Since I am a registered business I also have to charge GST and PST (Canadian Taxes)
    Alex Luyckx | Photography
    Capturing Beauty in Everything

Quote Originally Posted by Annie